Home - Maria Angela - Profile

Maria Angela's Profile

Maria Angela's Profile
Send to mail
Name: Maria Angela
Gender: FEMALE
Education Level:
Language: N/A
Subject: Math, World Languages, Language Arts
Bio description: I started teaching in 2009 by accident. I was working as an English teaching assistant, preparing materials for my bosses' class at the English Institute where I worked for 18 years total. One of the teachers for a K4 (fourth graders) class that day didn't show up and I was the only one available, because of the day and time all of our teachers were already teaching. I taught that class that day and the following day the Institute had three parents asking for the teachers to be switched, their kids loved my class and they wanted to have me as their teacher. That's how I started. My first official group was a K2 (second graders) class with 8 students. The kids were so happy that the parents enrolled their younger kids for another group that I also taught and they started bringing other older relatives so I had different groups with 8 to 22 kids from 6 to 17 years old. That same year the Institute signed a contract with a private school where I also taught kids from fourth grade to ninth grade with up to 42 students per class. That year my boss trusted me with a coordination job, having under my watch another 12 teachers for kids from pre-school to 9th grade. We worked with that private school for 4 years. Since I've moved to the USA I've helped a few friends learning Spanish, especially speaking, but I work the four abilities with them too. I've also worked with kids from elementary and middle school here in the USA, tutoring them with their school homeworks/projects, especially but not only Math. I had experience teaching other subjects than English since I always helped my classmates when I was still a student since I was in 4th grade. I have also helped neighbors and relatives with their homework from elementary, middle and high school. I also have to mention that when I started teaching English I volunteered teaching English to groups of teenagers coming from a very poor area in Asuncion, Paraguay, my home country. Once, I had a student asking if I understood a Math exercise she was practicing for her exam the following day, I had a look and explained it to her. After that, I got a lot of other students asking me questions about math and other subjects. That's how I started teaching them for free after my working hours, usually Saturday afternoon.
Availability :
Monday   Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Night
Tuesday   Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Night
Wednesday   Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Night
Thursday   Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Night
Friday   Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Night
Saturday   Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Night
Sunday   Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Night