Home - Shauna - Profile

Shauna's Profile

Shauna's Profile
Send to mail
Name: Shauna
Gender: FEMALE
Education Level:
Language: N/A
Subject: Math, Language Arts
Bio description: My name is Shauna! Throughout my academic career, I have found that how I am taught has the biggest impact on my learning. I understand the importance of presenting information in an engaging, comprehensible way, and I recognize the difference passion makes. When tutoring, I take these significant factors into consideration and teach accordingly. I do my best to present students with information in a way that is interesting and easy to understand, and this coupled with my passion for the subject matter allows me to be an effective tutor. I believe it is important to understand the relevance of the lesson content rather than just learn the material because you are told to. Therefore, I make sure to show my students how what they are learning is important in their own lives, which helps them to be more interested and successful. I believe that everyone is full of potential and has the capacity to learn whatever they set their mind to. Some people need help acquiring the tools necessary for success while others already have those tools and need help learning how to use them. I am confident in my ability to help students in both of these ways. I take a flexible approach to tutoring and am happy to adjust my methods according to the student's needs and learning style. I have an Associate degree in Liberal Arts from Cape Cod Community College, where I was the highest-ranked in my class, graduating with a 4.0 as a Commonwealth Honors Student. Currently, I am completing a Bachelor of Science in Psychology at Westfield State University. I am a CRLA-certified tutor, and I have 5+ cumulative years of experience. I have worked with students of all ages and abilities ranging from second grade through college. I have worked as a private, in-home tutor for English and math. Additionally, I have been hired by the state of Massachusetts to work at Cape Cod Community College as a tutor and supplemental instructor. I have tutored consistently in a wide variety of subjects including English, Writing, Elementary Math, College Algebra, Statistics, Psychology, and Biology. While working as a college supplemental instructor, I was responsible for creating lesson plans, reviewing class material, answering questions, providing test preparation, and walking students through the homework problems. Currently, I am working as a private, in-home tutor for a fifth-grade homeschooler. This involves staying with my student all day, guiding him through his work, and teaching him the material like a teacher would in a brick-and-mortar school. I am very passionate about facilitating growth and learning! I love helping people understand new information or anything they are having difficulty with. I truly love my job, and I would be thrilled to share my passion and knowledge with anyone who is struggling! I respond quickly to all inquiries and will do my best to assist you in any way I can. Feel free to reach out with any questions you may have or to schedule a lesson. I am looking forward to hearing from you!
Availability :
Monday   Morning, Evening, Night
Tuesday   Morning
Wednesday   Morning, Evening, Night
Thursday   Morning
Friday   Morning, Evening, Night
Saturday   Afternoon
Sunday   Afternoon